Instrumental Progressive Rock by Isobar

Isobar is a new progressive rock band based in San Jose, California. Their upcoming debut is comprised of all-instrumental, intricately-crafted songs, covering a wide range of musical territory.  


Isobar is:

  • Jim Anderson, bass
  • Malcolm Smith, guitars
  • Marc Spooner, keyboards


Anderson, Smith, and Spooner were members of Bay Area prog rock band Metaphor, which released four critically-acclaimed albums.  Smith and Spooner have also released solo material while Anderson recently played on an upcoming release by Mind Furniture.



Also appearing on Isobar's debut release are:

- Mattias Olsson - drums (ÄnglagårdWhite WillowMolesome, and many more)

- Evan Weiss - trumpet; Ben Bohorquez - saxophone (The Funky Knuckles)

- Lonnie Cory - trumpet; Tony Abena - saxophone (The Hitmen)


Isobar was recorded at Dolores Gulch Studios, and mixed by Robert Berry at Soundtek Studios.




(L-R) Jim Anderson, Malcolm Smith, Marc Spooner, Mattias Olsson